The Ritzville Adams County Journal - Eastern Adams County's Only Independent Voice Since 1887

By Dale Anderson

And the winner is…


Last updated 1/18/2022 at 7:22am

The awards for outstanding players in the NCAA divisions have been announced. The FBS winners are told prior to the bowl games in early December. The FCS awards are announced the night before the national championship game in January. I think it is fitting to wait until this time and make it that much more special.

The Walter Payton Award is the FCS version of the Heisman Trophy only without as much glamour but still very significant. The 2021 recipient is Eastern Washington University quarterback Eric Barriere. Barriere becomes the fourth Eagle to win the award. The Payton Award was first...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments(0)


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 05/19/2022 23:32